Julie Miller's Mental Health Blog

I wonder what questions folks have out there about EMDR…  I’ve been asked if it’s like hypnosis, and I always say:

No.

EMDR does not change your level of consciousness, or brain waves, like hypnosis.  EMDR cannot be used to dredge up repressed memories.  EMDR is not intrusive and does not change memories (other than to reduce the level of distress associated with them).

I’ve been asked if EMDR can erase memories that someone wants to get rid of.

No.

EMDR can reduce the level of distress associated with distressing memories.  It can help reframe what one thinks of oneself (e.g., “I am responsible; it was my fault” can reframe to “I did the best I could with what I knew at the time; it wasn’t my fault.”)

I’ve been asked if it’s like brainwashing.

No.

EMDR doesn’t wash your brain, or anything associated with it.

EMDR is intended to kick-start the adaptive information processing system (AIP, as explained by Francine Shapiro) so that previously unresolved overwhelming (i.e., “traumatic”) experiences can finally be brought to adaptive resolution.

There is so much information available about EMDR online.  If you are interested in learning more, please check one of the following sites:

www.EMDR.com

www.EMDRIA.org

Leave a Reply

